Showing posts with label Traditionalists. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Traditionalists. Show all posts

Friday, May 27, 2011

Itinerate Lay RC Preacher Michael Voris

I guess when local newscaster types, past their prime, need to find a niche market to sell MSM stuff; why not try to sell the old religion and chotsky stuff.

I ran into this right wing traditionalist speaker on You Tube. I tried to find a full bio on him which is hard even with the Internet. This is one of the least offensive You Tubes I found. Full of Pride and the Old Traditionalist Catholic spirit that I have not seen in generations.

The only saving grace in his YT video chotskies are the limited number of hits this crap gets.


I have not heard so much medieval clap trap since my youth in the RC church. The church militant can be quite offensive. No?

Apparently there is a traditionalist Catholic out there who also questions the credentials of such a glibbed tongue itinerate media prophet. From his blog:

Staten Island Catholic
I have no reason to distrust him, but I'm finding it increasingly odd that I have not been able to find one single piece of independent information about this man on the internet, except for what he himself has revealed. And all of the various websites that rave about him are simply repeating the facts he's provided in his own biography and interviews. I have no solid reason to be suspicious, but I'd like to know a bit more about the man before I'm comfortable seeing him elevated to the position of orthodox Catholicism's public face in America. Where was he born? Who are his parents? Where did he go to school? Why did he leave seminary? Is he now or was he ever married? Does he have children? Are there any skeletons in his closet that could potentially embarrass the Church and the faithful should they be revealed?...

It was kind of odd to see a layman up there preaching the Gospel from the altar, with a priest sitting meekly in the first row. It made me sad that the clergy has so abdicated their responsibility to preach the Gospel with the power of the Spirit that we need a layman to get up there and give us spiritual meat. I for one have never in my entire life heard a priest speak with such passion and inspiration. I'm sure it was a novel experience for most of the people there as well. Still, I couldn't help feeling ashamed for the Church that a layman from Michigan had to come all the way to Staten Island, NY so we could be inspired with the Gospel message. This parish has multiple priests in residence. Why aren't they giving lectures and inspirational sermons on Friday nights? Why aren't they evangelizing? Why aren't they tending to the spiritual needs of the flock? Why did they need to bring in Michael Voris? (no offense to him).
More thoughts on this later on.

Wednesday, May 4, 2011

Birther and Sedevacantist Movements - Similarities


Is the Oval Office truly empty???

Doing my hobby of researching the millions of pages of faith, Christian and otherwise, a thought occurred to me (I do have them on occasion) (and they are not all eccentric).


It struck me that the whole birther movement, in the denial of legitimacy of the 44th POTUS (a god of sorts with a small g) is not unlike the Sedevacantist (empty chair) movement in the RC church.


That aside from the Clinton campaign starting this whole birth certificate thing in 2008, the ferocity of this continued meme/myth/urban legend thing has overtones of religion all over it as much as it has coded racism.


Just looking at the flash mobs at the White House, Times Square and the Phillies/Mets game on Sunday night reminds me that the super patriotism thing is a tribal, almost secular religion thing. Every recognizable country has at the base of its identity this “we are great” “we are the only true ones” “we are first” tone of things.


As such I wish I had the time and money to follow through on this theme. I see a parallel between the Birther movement and the “Sedevacantists” in the RC church who believe that the Chair of Peter has been empty (Sede Vacante) since the death of Hitler’s pope Pius XII – the Great Appeaser.


John XXIII and his Vatican council thing ticked off a lot of traditionalists and their worship of the Latin mass thingy going in favor of the vernacular service. Modernism and democracy are both sins/depravities in the eyes of the RC dogma.


I have to wonder if the birther movement is a pure redneck populist movement. I have to wonder if big bucks behind the scenes from the likes of Mel Gibson and his more catholic than the pope Dad, along with Opus Dei justice Scalia and Sen. Santorum etc., have not been bankrolling this insane belief that the Oval Office is empty?


And all this birther religious like fervor or insanity is not being funded by church tax free money that should be otherwise taxed and put to better use?

Saturday, February 7, 2009

So-called bishop Richard Williamson - Heretic?


“…Bishop Richard Williamson of the ultra-conservative Society of St. Pius X told Germany's Der Spiegel magazine that based on research he did in the 1980s, he became convinced of his views about the Holocaust, which historians say resulted in the deaths of six million Jews.

Williamson is quoted by Der Spiegel as saying he would re-examine "everything again and look at the evidence." However, he said he won't be visiting the site of the Auschwitz concentration camp.

"Since I see that there are many honest and intelligent people who think differently, I must look again at the historical evidence," the British bishop was quoted as saying.

"It is about historical evidence, not about emotions," he added, according to the report.

"And if I find this evidence, I will correct myself. But that will take time."…

("Holocaust-denying bishop promises to review evidence" CBC.Com Feb.7,2009)


In the worst sort of Cafeteria Catholicism, so-called bishop Richard Williamson is taking his good old pedantic time in filing his nails and telling the Pope to chill while he reviews his beliefs on the Shoah or Jewish Holocaust.

He refuses to go to Auschwitz. There are living witnesses and he wants to drag out his old hate magazines and books to review his views that do not reflect reality or the modern age.

I feel sorry for this man who in his closed minded way thinks that Pius XII is still Pope and the Holocaust can be swept under the rug of Catholic, Christian Europe.

I read once in a book by the Traditionalist and ex-Jesuit Malachi Martin how Pius XII in the grand tradition of obedience to the Pope used to insist that bishops and cardinals get down on their hands and knees and kiss his foot in submission to his grand role as Head of the Roman Catholic Church.

If the traditionalists, sedevacantists insist that Pius XII was a real pope, what is Benedict XVI ? If you accept release from excommunication, it was by order of the Pope. Why aren’t you groveling before the Bishop of Rome and recanting your gloriously ignorant view of history???

If this were 70 A.D., 70 C.E. and Jerusalem was in ashes and thousands of Jews were in chains, would bishop Williamson if he were an early Christian scholar, would he write a gospel based on eyewitnesses to Christ or would he pull out his research, his scrolls and review what this Jew Jesus supposedly said or did. Then pick and choose. Probably!

It was the Jews in chains that built the Coliseum in Rome and brought Judaism and early Christianity to Rome in a big way. No Jews. No Jesus. No Christianity.

Jesus was real. Jesus was a Jew. Jesus’ first mission was to the Jews.

The secondary mission to the gentiles came later under the Apostle Paul and other gentiles. What came later after Jerusalem is less Jesus and more strange than it was human - kind of like you Richard Williamson.

I believe that this recent disgraceful episode is ordained by God to expose this so-called bishop's belief system, to bring it out of the shadows of ignorance and into the light of day and reason.

Get real. Get a life. Get a soul!